![]() |
|
|||||||
| Email Comments, Questions and Miscellaneous Share your opinion of the email service you're using. Post general email questions and discussions that don't fit elsewhere. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
The "e" in e-mail
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,531
Representative of:
tls-mail.com |
Email list I accessed everyday
This is the email list I almost accessed everyday:
https://smartdocs.be/netmail/ Do you find any interesting stuff in it? |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
The "e" in e-mail
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 2,370
|
Thanx Jeff
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 245
|
Nice list Jeff.
I will share mine as well. However they're also quite common (don't you think?) https://sites.tempshr.com/#/b/6a28e44362445 |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 | |
|
The "e" in e-mail
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,531
Representative of:
tls-mail.com |
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 294
|
I visited that site (ATTEMPTED)
Norton Threat Secured We prevented your connection to sites.tempshr.com because it is a dangerous webpage. Threat category: URL:Blacklist See details(downarrow) ---I am not going to type all that stuff in the details---- |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 858
|
Quote:
There's a reputable site: https://www.virustotal.com which will take an uploaded file or a specified URL and run it through (currently) 92 different anti-virus / anti-malware programs to tell you what they all think of it. I just did that for site sites.tempshr.com/ See results at: https://www.virustotal.com/gui/url/8...d88f?nocache=1 87 systems think it's ok; the other 5 class it as "phishing" ... which likely just means that (as a link-sharing site) it obscures where a URL is pointing - so the naive might not realise that they've been directed to a phishing site ... if they never look at URLs. You might want to google: risks link-sharing sites Doesn't Norton let you c&p information? Last edited by JeremyNicoll : 11 Jun 2026 at 08:53 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 245
|
Quote:
![]() I use it as a bookmark and access my favourite email providers daily. In any case, most if not all of the email providers listed there are already mentioned/featured here so nothing fancy, I mean you don't have to visit if it's seen as a risk. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 245
|
Indeed, I'm a pretty technical guy, so my approach to email is naturally a bit geeky. Nevertheless, I still enjoy using email services with a pleasant web UI, while having the flexibility of IMAP/SMTP access whenever I need it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 279
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
The "e" in e-mail
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: in between the bright lights and the far unlit unknown
Posts: 2,618
|
Quote:
So you can check if a site is safe by typing the URL in virustotal.com ? I browsed to that sites.tempshr.com link provided in this topic, didn't get a security warning or so. Didn't click any link on that specific page. As for email services I check daily: only the Gmail account in my Gmail app on my phone. All other accounts (different providers) I only check now and then from my desktop computer. By the way, in that list that Jeff or Truemagic provided, I see Vivaldi listed as a reliable email when it comes to privacy. I'm not really familiar with Vivaldi ; is that an Italian service? |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Sep 2022
Posts: 279
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Cornerstone of the Community
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Scotland
Posts: 858
|
Quote:
I don't think VT downloads anything from such a site, let alone analyses what eg JS code on their pages might do; it's asking the a/v vendors whether their software would block the site - the vendors won't tell us precisely why they distrust a specific site. Also you'll notice I tested the whole-site URL not a specific part of the site. It's possible that although the quoted Norton message only specified the whole site that their URL checker looks more closely at URLs. I suppose it's also possible that the site being checked might be on multiple servers and only some of those might be blocked on eg an IP address-range basis. See: https://docs.virustotal.com/docs/how-it-works Note that if you upload file(s) to be checked that VT might share the file with vendors - so don't do this if something is confidential. For file uploads VT starts by hashing the file; its results are indexed that way so (as is often the case with dubious files) they can tell you all the names that that file has been seen with. You can however avoid uploading files for checks if you just provide their hashes yourself. There's lots of utilities which will generate hashes; I use (on Windows) HashMyFiles from: https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html Note that on any of the NirSoft pages (lots & lots of excellent utilities!) the download link to use is at the foot of the page NOT the very prominent download links scattered through the page (which are currently for some sort of PDF utility that has nothing to do with NirSoft). Presumably Nir cannot afford to keep his site online without some ad revenue, sadly. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 294
|
Tsunami member explains:
Quote:
The Vivaldi browser has an email client as one of its features. https://vivaldi.com/features/mail/ |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Essential Contributor
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 434
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|